Robert Ivy is the CEO and Executive Vice President of American Institute of Architects, a professional association that champions the interests of architects in the country. He served as an Editor in Chief at Architectural Record. He helped the Architectural Record to grow and become the most read architectural journal in the world. He also served as a Vice President as well as Editorial Director of McGraw-Hill Construction Media. Ivy ascended to CEO position at AIA in 2011.

Mr. Robert Ivy holds a Bachelor of Arts in English from The University of the South. He also holds a Master in Architecture from Tulane University. He spent his early career years serving as a principal at Dean/Dale, Dean & Ivy. During that time, he criticized many national publications.

During his tenure at Architectural Record, it earned many publishing industry honors including the American Society of Magazine Editors National Magazine Award for General Excellence as well as the premier magazine journalism award. In addition, Architectural Record earned 7 Ozzies: Folio Design Awards, 26 Jesse H. Neal Awards as well as the 2008 MPA Digital for Website of the Year: Enthusiast.

Recently, Robert Ivy was awarded the Noel Polk Lifetime Achievement Award by Mississippi Institute of Arts and Letters (MIAL). This is the first time the Noel Polk Award goes to an architect and it recognizes individuals in Mississippi whose body of work involves a lifetime of performing, creating and/or supporting art. He has been referred as a worthy ambassador the for architecture profession. As a Mississippi native, winning the award is a testament to his both personal and professional achievements.

Also a Senior Fellow at the Design Futures Council, Robert Ivy was also recognized with the Crain Award by the American Business Media. The Crain Award is the American Business Media’s highest possible recognition of an individual. In 1998, he was crowned with the McGraw-Hill Award in recognition of Management Excellence.

Mr. Ivy was voted “Master Architect” unanimously by the national architecture fraternity for his capability to communicate effectively on the value of design. As a “Master Architect”, he joins the rank of iconic architects such as Dr. Nathan Clifford Ricker, Eliel Saarinen, Cass Gilbert and John Wellborn Root. He is among the 7 people with the title in 100 years.